top of page

Engine I use to make Games

I began making games only 2 short months ago, in the very beginning

of April. I had always enjoyed playing games in the past, and probably

have played nearly every genre of game out there, making me very familiar to the different games and how they work. I began to find most

games to be redundant or boring in a sense and could point out many factors I felt could be easily changed or added to make the game more

enjoyable. These different attributes gave me the motivation to start

making my own games.

I began searching the internet for programs to make games, seeing as I had very little coding experience. I first came across Game Maker Studios which I made a few simple games, but I just didn't connect with Game Maker, or didn't quite enjoy making games using that engine. Considering this was more of a hobby in the beginning I figured no point in wasting my time with something I don't enjoy doing, so I kept researching and came across Construct 2 and Stencyl. After looking over each option I felt like Stencyl was overall the better choice for what I was looking for, and I have been working with Stencyl ever since.

Stencyl is an easy drag and drop "coding-blocks" system. Overall it is pretty straight forward with how to make simple codes for objects, but with some practice one can essentially make whatever coding they need for their 2D games.

You may wonder why I would even bother with 2D games with the types of games that are available nowadays, such as most XBOX games or many computer games. However if you have ever noticed the credits for those games, each game has hundreds of people making it. As of right now I am and have been an independent developer, which would make creating a good 3D game very tedious and long for one person to make without much coding experience. That being said I have used a program called Unity 3D and made a marble labyrinth, but it was too reliant on coding for me to make anything complex. Although 2D games are still all around us and have the potential to make plenty of money if you happen to make that addicting game that every one gets hooked on such as Candy Crush or Flappy Bird. Both of these games are rather very simple (especially flappy bird) there are probably thousands of versions of these 2 games showing that the coding ability can't be that difficult, but yet Flappy Bird had millions of users, and Candy Crush makes $630,000 a day which equates to about $230 million a year. That is insane for just a single app!

Stencyl has allowed me to join the game developer community and bring my ideas to life, if you want an easy program to learn and start making games of your own I would highly suggest Stencyl to you as well!

Thank you for reading!

Josh


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page